Let’s talk about ScreenJunkies

maxresdefault

Hello to all! So if you haven’t already heard, Andy Signore, who is the creator of ScreenJunkies on Youtube (mostly commonly known for their Honest Trailers) has been fired due to sexual harassment. This was a big thing that blew up on my twitter this weekend and I was shocked to say the least. I always considered ScreenJunkies to be one of my go-to places for movies. I always watched their videos, I loved Honest Trailers, and Movie Fights, and really all the crew on these shows…well up until now. No one else on the crew apparently knew of Andy’s behavior, but I feel like it needs to be addressed, especially with the addition Harvey Weinstein also being fired due to the same reasons (not from ScreenJunkies, from the Weinstein Company – just for clarification). Defy Media who owns ScreenJunkies was apparently made well aware of this behavior months before these allegations were made public and they did not fire Andy Signore. Why you may ask – well isn’t it obvious, Andy is the face and the creator of ScreenJunkies, they held his interests at heart and not the countless number of women who reported Andy’s sexual harassment to Defy Media’s HR department, which by all accounts is wrong. It wasn’t until one brave woman stood up and publicly commented on social media what Andy Signore said and harassed her that other women started to join in. Defy Media and Screenjunkies then tweeted that Andy was suspended (not fired!) and that they will be investigating his behavior. Luckily, Signore was fired yesterday, which still is too late.

Needless to say, I was discouraged. Andy Signore always seemed nice in his videos and content that Screenjunkies posted. I was even hoping to one day be on the couch during a Movie Fights episode. As a woman who wants to go into something similar like ScreenJunkies, and just go into film in general, I knew that there would be obstacles – mainly in the form of men in higher positions telling me of what I can or cannot do – but I did not image that someone who I respected like Andy Signore would ever target and violate women like he did. It really opened my eyes and for a second it made me question if I wanted to do this knowing that I could run into people like him very easily in the world of film. But here I am, creating this blog and trying to expand on my film writing and critiques.

If you want to know more of the details go to https://twitter.com/April13Dawn to read accounts to what April and other women experienced at the hands of Andy Signore. Tweets of this incident range from October 6, 2017 to October 9, 2017.

One thought on “Let’s talk about ScreenJunkies

  1. It’s terrible what these women have all suffered, but it’s encouraging that many are now finding a voice and it appears they are being listened to (about time). I have no doubt that there will be plenty more scandals to come out of the woodwork in both the film industry and among YouTube channels. These sleaze bags need to be exposed and shown for what they are. I do hope you continue with your dream as I do believe these people are in the minority.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

